Who needs an ETIAS authorization?

The ETIAS targets citizens of countries who can enter the European Union without a visa; as such, the citizens of the following 62 countries will need to get the ETIAS authorization before their trip (By 2021 many other countries will be added to the list below):

  • Albania
  • Andorra
  • Antigua and barbuda
  • Argentina
  • Australia
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Brazil
  • Brunei
  • Canada
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Costa Rica
  • Dominica
  • El Salvador
  • Georgia
  • Grenada
  • Guatemala
  • Vatican City State
  • Honduras
  • Hong Kong
  • Israel
  • Japan
  • Kiribati
  • Macao
  • Malaysia
  • Marshall Islands
  • Mauritius
  • Mexico
  • Micronesia
  • Moldova
  • Monaco
  • Montenegro
  • Nauru
  • New Zealand
  • Nicaragua
  • NorthMacedonia
  • Palau
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Saint Lucia
  • Saint Vincent
  • Samoa
  • Serbia
  • Seychelles
  • Singapore
  • Solomon Islands
  • South Korea
  • Taiwan
  • Timor Leste
  • Tonga
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Tuvalu
  • Ukraine
  • United Arab Emirates
  • United States of America
  • Uruguay
  • Vanuatu
  • Venezuela

What is the procedure for the ETIAS authorization application?

The ETIAS application on Official Etias Visa is very easy and quick, it is an online procedure (only) and the following few steps are all that you will need to go through:

  • Filling the online form with biometric information and answering the background questions.
  • Payment of the fee (Revenues from fees go to the EU budget).
  • Getting a response that can be:
    • A valid travel authorization granted for a period of 3 years or until the passport expires
    • Application refused ( In this case, you should apply for a visa)
    • The decision has to be taken within four weeks

What happens after submitting my request for ETIAS?

After completing the application on our platform, our specialized team will verify the information you entered and eventually call you for any small rectification. Then, your application will be processed automatically by the ETIAS’ Central Unit; if there is a hit (suspicions about you) from the automated application processing, the application will undergo manual processing by the staff of the ETIAS Central and National Unit(s).

What are the benefits of the ETIAS system?

ETIAS system wasDesigned to protect the EU’s external borders, it will enable authorities to identify travelers who may present a risk even before they arrive. The system will also help to strengthen internal security, prevent illegal immigration and reduce waiting times at borders.

Who should check the ETIAS?

As soon as ETIAS is put into service, airlines and shipping companies must check before boarding that passengers are in possession of a valid travel authorisation. Three years later, this obligation will also apply to international group carriers operating coach services.

Do I need to apply for a separate ETIAS for each country I visit?

No, if you are planning to visit many Schengen countries then only one ETIAS authorization is enough. You do not need to apply for an ETIAS for each member country you visit; an approved ETIAS will cover all visits to ETIAS member countries.